Manipur & Meghalaya to go for Rajya Sabha polls on June 19, 2020

 Shillong, June 3, 2020 (MMP): As India entered into Covid-19 unlock phase I, the Election Commission has announced elections to the Council of States to fill 18 seats. Manipur and Meghalaya with one seat each, Andhara Pradesh 4, Gujarat 4, Jharkhand 2, Madhya Pradesh 3, and Rajasthan 3 will go for polling on June 19.Elections to elect Rajya Sabha members from these seven states were supposed to be held on March 26, but considering the prevailing unforeseen situation of public health emergency due to COVID-19, the Election Commission had deferred the poll.The poll panel extended the period of said election under the provisions of section 153 of the Act.

            The list of contesting candidates already published for the said election by the respective Returning Officers, is to remain valid for the purpose of remaining activities as was prescribed under the said notification.“Now, Commission has reviewed the matter in detail. Considering all factors, including the guidelines issued on May 30, issued by Union Home Secretary and Chairman, national Executive Committee (NEC) under the National Disaster Management Act, 2005, and taking into account the inputs obtained from the Chief Electoral Officers concerned, the Commission has decided to conduct the poll,” said the ECI.

         The polling will take place between 9 p.m to 4 p.m on June 19 and counting of votes will take place on the same day at 5 p.m.“By June 22 election shall be completed,” the EC said. The Commission has also said that the Chief Secretaries shall depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the elections. Further Commission has appointed Chief Electoral Officer concerned as Observer for the election in the respective State. MMP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *