United Democratic Party candidate Balajied Kupar Synrem emerges victorious in the Shella Bye-Election in Meghalaya.


Balajied Kupar Synrem

Shillong, October 24, 2019 (MMP): The United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate, Balajied Kupar Synrem today emerged victorious in the Shella Bye-Election in Meghalaya. He defeated his nearest rival Independent candidate, Gracy Mary Kharpuri by a margin of huge margin of 6221 votes. Synrem polled 12,002 votes and Kharpuri polled 5781 votes in the six-cornered contest. The seat felt vacant, when his father, who was the Speaker of Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, Dr. Donkupar Roy passed away due to organ failure at the Medanta Super Specialty hospital at Gurgaon, Delhi on the 28 of July, 2019. Synrem won the Assembly seat with huge margin. Synrem made a difference from his father won the Shella Assembly Constituency in Meghalaya’s East Khasi Hills District, on the Indo-Bangladesh border with small margin for five consecutive terms from 1988. The other candidate of the People’s Democratic Front-Mosjo Rock F. Wanswet polled 2126 voter, Congress candidate-Batingshain Laitmon secured 454 votes, BJP contestant-Joshua Warjri got-310 votes and Independent candidate-Kommin Laitmon got-123 votes.


Result of Shella Bye-Election in Meghalaya’s East Khasi Hills District.


Name of candidates Party Vote Polled Margin
Sl.1. Balajied Kupar Synrem United Democratic Party 12,002 6221
Sl.2. Grace Mary Kharpuri Independent 5781  
Sl.3. Mosjo Rock F. Wanswet People’s Democratic Front 4327
Sl.4. Battyngshain Laitmon Ranga Congress 1715
Sl.5. Joshuwa Warjri BJP 742
Sl.6. Komen Laitmon Independent 444
                                 NOTA 188


Party position in the 60-member Meghalaya Legislative Assembly with today’s result

Political groups.

National People’s Party (NPP) led Meghalaya Democratic Alliance Government-38,

NPP-21, UDP-7,  PDF-4,  HSPDP-2,  BJP-2 and  Independent (2)

KHNAM (Nuetral) -1.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *