Six in Shillong and three in Tura Parliamentary seats to contest for the upcoming Lok Sabha Polls

Shillong,28, 2019 (MMP): In Meghalaya, on the last day of withdrawal of candidature for the upcoming Lok Sabha election scheduled for April 11, out of eight candidates who have filed their nominations only six candidates will be contesting for the Shillong Parliamentary seat. While for the Tura parliamentary seat, three candidates will contest for the chair.  

       For the Shillong Parliamentary seat; CPI candidate Justice Kharbasanti and the substitute candidate of Congress Kennedy Cornelius Khyriem have withdrawn their candidature. The remaining six candidates for the Shillong seat include the sitting MP Vincent H Pala for Congress, Jemino Mawthoh for United Democratic Party who is also a common candidate of the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance government, Sanbor Shullai for BJP, and independent candidates Romeo Phira Ranee, THS Booney and Samuel Hashah.

        Meanwhile, for the Tura Parliamentary seat, former Chief Minister Dr Mukul M Sangma of the Congress will contest with the National People’s Party’s candidate and former Union Minister Agatha A Sangma and BJP candidate Rikman G Momin.

      It may be mentioned that the last date of filing nominations for Meghalaya was March 25 while scrutiny of nominations was March 26. Both the parliamentary seats will go on polls in the first phase of the Lok Sabha election on April 11.MMP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *